Google Translate, Google Language Tools, Translated Search

Google Translate, Google Language Tools, Translated Search

Google Translate, Google Language Tools, Translated SearchUse the Google Interface in Your Language

Set the Google homepage, messages, and buttons to display in your selected language via our Preferences page.
Google currently offers the following interface languages:

What is Google Translate?

Google Translate is a free translation service that provides instant translations between 58 different languages. It can translate words, sentences and web pages between any combination of our supported languages. With Google Translate, we hope to make information universally accessible and useful, regardless of the language in which it’s written.

How does it work?

When Google Translate generates a translation, it looks for patterns in hundreds of millions of documents to help decide on the best translation for you. By detecting patterns in documents that have already been translated by human translators, Google Translate can make intelligent guesses as to what an appropriate translation should be. This process of seeking patterns in large amounts of text is called “statistical machine translation”. Since the translations are generated by machines, not all translation will be perfect. The more human-translated documents that Google Translate can analyse in a specific language, the better the translation quality will be. This is why translation accuracy will sometimes vary across languages.

What languages does Google Translate support?

Google Translate currently supports 58 languages:

  1. Afrikaans
  2. Albanian
  3. Arabic
  4. Belarusian
  5. Bulgarian
  6. Catalan
  7. Chinese
  8. Croatian
  9. Czech
  10. Danish
  11. Dutch
  12. English
  13. Estonian
  14. Filipino
  15. Finnish
  16. French
  17. Galician
  18. German
  19. Greek
  20. Hebrew
  21. Hindi
  22. Hungarian
  23. Icelandic
  24. Indonesian
  25. Irish
  26. Italian
  27. Japanese
  28. Korean
  29. Latvian
  30. Lithuanian
  31. Macedonian
  32. Malay
  33. Maltese
  34. Norwegian
  35. Persian
  36. Polish
  37. Portuguese
  38. Romanian
  39. Russian
  40. Serbian
  41. Slovak
  42. Slovenian
  43. Spanish
  44. Swahili
  45. Swedish
  46. Thai
  47. Turkish
  48. Ukrainian
  49. Vietnamese
  50. Welsh
  51. Yiddish
  52.  Current alpha languages are:
  53. Armenian
  54. Azerbaijani
  55. Basque
  56. Georgian
  57. Haitian Creole
  58. Latin
  59. Urdu

Google Translate tests other languages, called “alpha languages”, that may have less-reliable translation quality than our supported languages. We are always working to support other languages and will introduce them as soon as the translation quality meets our standards.

What can I do to improve Translation quality?

If you encounter a translation that doesn’t seem right, quite often Google Translate will have alternative results available. To view these, simply click the phrase in question. When you click a better alternative translation, Google Translate will learn from your feedback and continue to improve over time.

You can also help improve translation quality by using Translator Toolkit for translating or by uploading your translation memories into Translator Toolkit.

Want to learn more?

If you still have questions about Google Translate or would like to provide feedback, please take a look at the Google Translate discussion group.

You can read more about our most recent updates on the Google Translate Blog and about Google’s other research projects at the Google Research website.

To learn more about the science of machine translation, take a look at these resources:

Source : Google Translate

More News @